canadiandebtgirl

Time Management

In Uncategorized on June 16, 2009 at 11:03 pm

the past few weeks I’ve had a terrible time trying to focus. Every time I sit down to a task, I find a million other little ones that need to be done right. now. Then by the time I get my initial task completed, it was three times the amount of time it should have taken! This little nasty habit applies not only to my personal life, but my work life too.

After reading a great post by Gail Vaz Oxlade, I took her advice. Of my long list of things to do, I grabbed my pink highlighter and pinpointed three that were ABSOLUTE must-dos for today. Then, after checking my email, I closed my email, the internet, and turned off my phone ringer. Anything that was absolutely critical could wait until noon today. By the end of the day, not only did I get those three things DONE, but I also got a few other ‘extras’ crossed off my list too. That felt really good. I felt accomplished. And efficient.

I’m a lover of lists, but to prioritize them like that really was a new tool to add to my toolbox for time management. The ‘Highlighter’ Trick.

Another technique to use, especially if you are susceptible to the ’email-checking-every-10-minutes-and-replying-right-away’ monster is to schedule when you will check and respond to email. A training course I once went to suggested checking your email three times a day. First thing in the morning, once at noon and then again at 3:15. If anyone needs answers from you at another time during the day, they pick up the phone and call. It does your prioritizing for you! Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

