canadiandebtgirl

Should we still retire?

In Uncategorized on July 7, 2009 at 9:56 am

I’ve had some independent thoughts provoked from an interesting article posted by Adam Baker of Man Vs. Debt over on viralogy.com on retirement.

You can read the article here.

This is interesting. I’ve always thought about retirement as simply a milestone marking the end of one career and the beginning of another. I know I will never stop working. Never. I love to be busy! I have a million and one things going on at all times, and it drives my husband nuts. But this is what keeps me going: having lots to do!

Chances are, I will keep busy once I finish my current career with another self-employed career. In fact, I am growing a small business as we speak in anticipation of going on maternity leave. When I’m off on leave I will also be dedicating more time to my own business.

And of course to raising a child… đŸ˜‰

Never one to stay still for more than a few minutes at a time, I place value on my hours by the activities that fill them. The quality of the activities is gauged by the importance I put on them. For example, time spent with family and friends has more importance than time spent doing housework. But, housework has much more value than reading a book. Except if I am in need of some time to myself, in which case I may place more importance on self-care than house-care. Moreover, reading a book is intrinsically more valuable than watching TV.

SIDENOTE: I’ve stopped watching idle TV! It’s amazing how much time I have.

So you can see I weigh out all my options for how I spend my time.

Will retirement provide more time to be carefully measured out into valuable activities? For certain. Will that time be spent idly? Doubtful. Will that time be spent earning money? Most likely. If I enjoy something, and can make an earning doing it, I will probably choose that activity to fill my days.

Have I formulated a good idea here in this blog post… not so sure. Maybe I am just rambling. But this was time well spent because it has me thinking about the future.

Leave a Reply

