canadiandebtgirl

New Computer

In Uncategorized on October 22, 2009 at 12:59 pm

Jenn at her Paying Myself is talking about getting a new computer. This reminded me I will be due for a new one soon too.

I’ve currently got an old Mac at home, and lurrrrrve it! But, the cost of a new Mac is simply out of my budget when you can get a perfectly good PC laptop for a LOT less. Like $700 less. $700 is a good chunk of change towards paying down debt. $700 is a lot of extra cash to save up just for a pretty Mac.

Especially when there are ideas around the interweb on how to run MacOSx on a PC! Yes. You heard right. Some snooping around found me these useful tidbits of info from Lifehacker:

Install OSX on your Hackintosh PC – No Hacking Required
Build a Hackintosh Mac for Under $800

Now, whether or not I do this is another question, but it is interesting.

Me, I’ll probably still get the Mac because I can use all my previously purchased Mac software on it. But will I buy it brand spanking new? Likely not.

Leave a Reply

