canadiandebtgirl

Update: November Goals

In Uncategorized on December 2, 2009 at 12:54 pm

How did I do for November goals last month? Not too bad. Not amazing either. Here’s the November Goals post.

My goals were
– Make 50% of my Christmas gifts by November 30th.
– Decrease debt by $1000.
– Come under budget this month.
– Save money into tax account for small business.

Here’s how I did:

– Make 50% of my Christmas gifts by November 30th.
Nope, did not make half of my gifts. I still have about 80% to go!

– Decrease debt by $1000.
This might have been an ambitious goal. I reduced my total debt by $724.31 and my credit card debt by $526.78.

– Come under budget this month.
I did come under budget, but I haven’t formatted my budget to a way that allows me to share the exact numbers. I promise I will be setting this up for the new year so you can see where my money goes.

– Save money into tax account for small business.
Saved $627.97 into a tax account for my business taxes once I get around to doing them. I will be adding $150 to that this week.

I think I can improve upon my goals from November as well as add a couple small financial goals to them for December. Primarily my goals will centre around Christmas spending and travel since our families are both out of town.

  1. What kind of small business do you run? Is it your sole source of income? I ask because I am setting up my own law practice and I’m finding it very challenging to budget right now because my income is so irregular. I would love to commiserate and share ideas!

    • Hi Jenn,

      It is a side business, not related to finances. I also have a full-time job, so luckily I am not depending on my business’ income solely. Yet. Eventually that would be a wonderful thing, but I don’t foresee it happening logistically for years and years. Plus in the industry my small business services, it would be hard to work M-F 9-5, which is what I like for my life right now. As it stands, I can schedule myself in for evenings and weekends when I feel like it. It my business was my full time job, I would be working evenings and weekends all the time to make the big commissions.

      I can only imagine it would be so difficult to budget anything with erratic income month to month…

      I’m keeping my business private from my blog, but let me know and I can send you the info privately! 🙂

Leave a Reply

