canadiandebtgirl

Eating ‘Clean’ and Frugality

In Uncategorized on January 27, 2010 at 8:00 am

We are trying out a new fad around our house: eating clean. We tossed the idea around of trying a detox, but they seem just a bit too extreme for us. Our bodies are made to cleanse themselves of toxins, I’m not sure I need to drink only cayenne pepper and maple syrup in water to help that along!

From the Eat Clean Diet website:

Eating Clean is eating the way nature intended. You eat the foods our bodies evolved to function best on, and that makes you feel – and look – fantastic. When you Eat Clean you eat more often. You will eat lean protein, complex carbs, and healthy fats. These practices keep your blood-sugar levels stable and keep you satisfied. The best part is that if you need to lose weight it will happen almost without you having to try. And yes, you can have a treat now and again.

Best of all, Eating Clean keeps you feeling great and full of energy. In fact, you can forget all about the days when “dieting” meant feelings of hunger, lethargy or deprivation.

Eating Clean is not a fad; it’s a way of life. When you Eat Clean your body will react by losing weight if you need to lose, maintaining a healthy weight if that’s where you are, and even gaining weight if you are too skinny. But regardless of whether you want to lose, maintain or gain, you will feel better than you ever have before.

What I wonder is how cost effective this will be to our grocery bill? We don’t spend a lot on food because we are excellent shoppers and love to cook gourmet meals on a budget. I think we are successful at this. What I’m interested to see is how we’ll do with the prescription of foods offered by the Eat Clean Diet.

Has anyone tried this? Or does anyone follow it and have recommendations on what to keep in mind while we try it out?

  1. I actually have the Eat Clean Diet cookbook on my waiting list at the library, I should get it soon since I’m #1 on the list. I just added the Eat Clean Diet book and am #6, so could be a while before I get it.

    It’s interesting, I think there could be some good tips here. And eating natural and whole foods can’t be bad for us… I’m trying to get away from processed junk as much as I can…

    Let us know how this works for you guys!!

  2. I have been following the eat clean diet for the past few months. I absolutely love it and my family follows the eating too but still have their treats. I am feeling awesome, have much more energy, the energy needed for my workouts, and have finally started to lose weight again after being stuck for almost a year.
    I find my grocery bill is about the same but instead of all the processed crap, my fridge is chalk full of fresh veggies and fruits. So my kids eat lots more healthy stuff now instead of frozen pizzas and kraft dinner. I would definitely give it a try and keep in mind that once summer comes, fresh vegs and fruits will be cheaper and you can take advantage of this to freeze your own for the winter months.

  3. I don’t follow any diet plan or anything, but last year I lost 50lbs by totally going “clean” and getting rid of anything processed in my diet. I eat probably 95% clean.. it’s helped my eczema and i’m a sz.2. Definitely a great way to eat for health & weight loss! 🙂 Good luck to you!!

    http://www.halfdozendaily.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

