canadiandebtgirl

Approaching 50% of Credit Card Debt Paid Off

In Uncategorized on November 4, 2010 at 8:00 am

A milestone is near.

I will soon be halfway there: halfway to credit-card-debt-free that is!

When I began this journey, I was more than $30K in debt. And that is if you only counted my credit cards. I also have student loans, a car loan, and a mortgage that don’t get included in my debt tally – yet. Once my line of credit VISA is paid off, you will see them added into my debt repayment plan.

In only 19 months (since May 2009) I have cut that number in half. The official anticipated date for paying off Credit Card #2 will be December 10, 2010, and I will be down to one credit card balance on my line of credit at a measly rate of 5.65%. Though the remaining balance is the highest, this card has the lowest interest rate. I’m looking very forward to seeing quick progress on its repayment once I’m paying more than the minimum.

I owe all of my debt repayment calculations and motivation to this Debt Reduction Calculator. If you are only just now beginning your journey to debt free, or would even just like to see how long it really will take to pay off your mortgage, I highly suggest you go download this free Excel spreadsheet now.

I’ve got some other things I would like to give credit to for my debt repayment plan working, but I’ll save them for a separate post. πŸ™‚

  1. Congrats! Sometimes we get so mired in the big numbers of our debt that we forget to celebrate milestones like this one. Keep it up! πŸ™‚

  2. Where have you been? How is your journey with your debt coming along? What’s new??

    • Thanks for following along and taking the time to write.

      I’ve been away on maternity leave! I’m back now and back onto my debt repayment plan.

      Stay tuned for more updates. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

